The Warwick Prize for Writing

It seems my alma mater has found a new source of funds.

The Warwick Prize for Writing, launched by the University of Warwick

is an international cross-disciplinary award which will be given biennially for an excellent and substantial piece of writing in the English language, in any genre or form, on a theme that will change with every award.


The new Prize is part of the University's Vision 2015 plan to enhance the University's already significant international links and position it as an intellectual gateway to the UK and beyond.

The Prize brilliantly underlines the University of Warwick's position at the forefront of academic excellence, its thematic approach to cross-disciplinary learning and reputation for creative excellence.

(Read more about the Warwick Prize for Writing here.)

This year's short-listed books include Lisa Appignanesi's Mad, Bad and Sad and Alex Ross's The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century. For both the short-list and long-list, see here.  The winner will be announced next week, on the 24th of February.

Apart from the unique way in which nominations and the long-list are compiled, I must say that the Prize is exactly as described: a prize for writing, never mind the £50,000.

For the aspiring writers out there / in here, the next Prize "will be awarded in 2011 and the theme will be announced at the award ceremony in February 2009".

This entry was posted in books, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One Trackback

  1. […] to our recent post, the winner of the inaugural Warwick Prize for Writing was announced on […]

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


Please leave these two fields as-is: